Untitled Document

TogArt Contemporary Art Awards, Parliament House, Darwin

Naata Nungurrayi, Patrick Tjungurrayi, Ningura Napurrula and Yukultji Napangati were selected to exhibit at the 2007 TogArt Contemporary Art Awards in Darwin earlier this month. In it’s first year of competition the award featured work by twenty-eight artists from across the Northern Territory and beyond. The award, opened by Chief Minister Claire Martin, offered a unique opportunity for Indigenous and non-Indigenous artists from the Territory to exhibit their work together.

The exhibition features photography, painting, film and fibrework and runs from the 9th until the 31st of July, 2007. The awards include a non-acquisitive $15,000 prize and a peoples choice prize of $5,000.